Harry L. McKinley Safety Leadership Award

This award is given to a company.

The Safety Leadership Award is earned through documented establishment of safety and health programs, which have reduced the frequency and severity of injury and illness in the workplace. Companies that have demonstrated innovative techniques and safety processes to improve safety performance will also be considered.

The Michigan Safety Conference wishes to recognize each year an employer who exhibits leadership commitment and strives for significant and sustainable results for environmental, health, and safety excellence in the workplace.


  • **Facility or organization must be located in the State of Michigan.
  • **Minimum Michigan based employment – 300 regular employees (excluding contract and temporary employees ).
  • **Reduction of recordable/lost work days over most recent five-year period.
  • Nomination to headquarters office with supporting documentation by January 31, 2023 2023 Leadership Award Criteria


2022   None Given

2020/2021   Plastipak Packaging, Inc.

2019    None Given

2018    None Given

2017    None Given

2016    Three Rivers Corporation

2015    Walter Toebe Construction Company

2014    Fisher Companies

2013    None Given

2012    None Given

2011    MIOSHA

2010    None Given

2009    Domino’s Pizza, Ann Arbor, MI

2008    Chrysler, LLC

2007    None Given

2006    Tenneco

2005    None Given

2004    UAW Ford

2003    Barton Malow Company

2002    William Beaumont Hospital

2001    UAW and General Motors      (1st year given)

Future Conference Dates

April 18-19, 2023, Grand Rapids, MI
April 16-17, 2024, Grand Rapids, MI
April 15-16, 2025, Lansing, MI
April 14-15, 2026, Lansing, MI

Contact Us to Get Involved!